Need advice on restoring in a depressed neighborhood
Historic HomeWorks Forum Forum Index -> Questions & Comments  
View previous topic :: View next topic  
octongue

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:55 pm    Post subject: Need advice on restoring in a depressed neighborhood Reply with quote

Hi, first post..
I am new to the idea of restoring aging homes, but am very into preserving and rescusitating failing neighborhoods in my community. In buying a house for the first time, I have decided (80%, anyway) to buy a home in Columbus' "Old Towne East" Historical neighborhood. 75 percent of the neighborhood is in need of rehab, which is why the market is so low there. I need to know about properties such as the following link:

http://oldetowneeastrealty.kingthompson.info/cgi-bin/prop-detail/CBR/2625627

There is a wealth of beautiful, although disheveled, homes there. I want to participate in the rebuilding of the neighborhood, and make it as beautiful as it once was, but am afraid to know what issues lie ahead. As reference, here is another home that is 4 blocks away, that has a mild re-moderning done to it (for only $30,000) dollars more...

http://oldetowneeastrealty.kingthompson.info/cgi-bin/prop-detail/CBR/2630701

THAT IS MY MAIN QUESTION----HOW MUCH IS IT GOING TO COST TO REHAB THE FIRST PROPERTY?

Thanks, and if this is the wrong place, please point me to the right...

--brian
oldhomeowner

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately you are asking a question no one can answer. A good visual inspection can tell you what serious problems the house has. Examples are foundation issues, roofing issues, updating the wiring and electric service, age and quality of furnace and heating systems.